Mar 252016
Carley Adamson

GCCRA is pleased to announce the winner of the 2016 scholarship award!

The Georgia Certified Court Reporters Association (GCCRA) is pleased to announce the winner of our 2016 Horace Webb Scholarship Program in service to the realtime court reporting students or graduates in the state of Georgia.

As a leader within the court reporting field, GCCRA recognizes that you have many opportunities to become involved in organizations and activities once you begin this exciting career.  GCCRA encourages this winner to start their career off with a gift of financial aid for studies and a one-year membership into GCCRA!  Your study of realtime court reporting evidences your commitment to professional development and your desire to network with other reporters, who share your enthusiasm, interests, and goals.

People may ask:  So who is Horace Webb?  Horace L. Webb was the inventor of the stenomask – the device that allows voice reporters to repeat back what is being said while their voice is silenced so that one is not able to be heard in the courtroom or deposition setting.  So what did this winner receive?

  • To start with, the recipients are given membership, either student or full, to GCCRA, the only reporting organization in Georgia that fully allows all methods of takedown into their association with full voting privileges!
  • The award recipients will be encouraged to attend GCCRA board meetings to further network with industry leaders and working reporters!  
  • Another gift to further their career in court reporting are a $500 payment to a reporting program or school (payment made directly to school – and in this case, Brown College of Court Reporting)
  • Free NVRA or NCRA Study Guide (in this case NVRA) and a voucher entitling the recipient to one CVR or CCR Workshop (in this case CVR), one online written examination, and one dictation skills test (pre-registration required)


I know, I know — announce the winner already!  The Board of Directors of GCCRA would like to announce the 2016 winner of the Horace Webb Scholarship, Carley Adamson.  Congratulations Carley!!!!